Skip to content

What is a vegan-friendly wine?

Wines suitable for vegan consumption are part of a global consumption trend. Its name generates skepticism in the general public since it is a product derived from grapes, however, in its production process there are some components that can modify the equation.

Changes in eating habits are a global trend that is gaining space in different countries day by day. From the choice of organic foods, through vegetarianism and veganism, these preferences demand products that are suitable for their consumption. In this framework, wines suitable for vegan consumption have a leading role in Argentina.

Although it seems obvious to talk about vegan wine as it is a product whose raw material belongs to the plant kingdom, there is the possibility that components from the animal kingdom are involved in the production process. In this way, its consumption would already be inhibited for those people who are looking for a vegan diet.

The key point of this process is clarification, where remains of proteins, yeasts and other substances are eliminated. In this stage of production, products such as gelatin (which come from the cartilage of different animals), albumin (from eggs or dehydrated powdered blood) or potassium caseinate (which is obtained from milk), among others, are traditionally used. , a situation that makes them unviable for vegan consumption.

However, there is an alternative for the development of vegan wines, that is, that do not have components of animal origin in their production. For this, mineral products such as bentonite or vegetables such as potato derivatives, peas or seaweed are used; or natural decantation processes are carried out. In the case of the first alternatives, they make it possible to achieve the same results as traditional processes and to be just as safe and efficient.

The certification of these production processes that allow vegan consumers to be certain that it is a wine that does not have animal components. In this sense, VEG Argentina has the first seal that guarantees compliance with the certification scheme for vegan products. This is present in more than 894 products from 65 different companies.

The seal, created in 2019, is designed to implement a certification scheme for vegan products under the parameters of the ISO 17030 standard for Independent Third Party Conformity Marks. In this way, they certify that the components that were part of the wine production have vegan attributes.

Based on the seal, wineries can demonstrate transparency to consumers, generating greater confidence in those people who make veganism a way of life. The seal is also a gateway to demands at an international level, where vegan-friendly products are increasingly required.

The Argentine wine industry is recognized worldwide for its quality, adding the vegan seal to that value is an opportunity for wineries to enhance their expansion. As well as allowing them to accompany the development of a lifestyle that every day has more followers worldwide, allowing them to provide transparency in production and facilitating information to the consumer.